Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Heavy Civil Construction Estimating 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kuhuh

Civil/Environmental
Jan 28, 2011
US
I am a civil engineer taking on more of an estimating role for a heavy construction general engineering contractor. I, like most young engineers, lack the true field time to obtain solid productivity rates and estimating methodologies. Can someone please recommend some great study material. After searching on google I determined many manuals are outdated and provide lots of different personal opinions which can be hard for a young engineer to gauge.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There isn't a manual that will give you the answers you need. Costs and productivity rates can vary dramatically between each job, are based on being competitive with others in your region, location of materials in relation to the job site, types of equipment used to complete the work, etc.

Hopefully you can find a mentor in the company. Otherwise you can look at older costs proposals your company has put together and start to break-down each line item unit cost to get a general baseline and then determine how/why they vary from project to project.

I understand it wont give me the answers but rather I'm looking for a manual on how to develop the methodologies, identifying the risks and how to associate them to activities. Maybe even contain examples of how certain factors effect normal work rates/processes. I have the mentors but most people will always say "that's just how I do it" when asked why. There are so many books out there thought I would ask to help eliminate buying 100 books.