Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HEC-HMS Gage weights method and SCS Storm Type II 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

guanxt

Civil/Environmental
Apr 18, 2010
US
Hi I'm a newbie in Hec-HMS, sorry for my entry-level question.

I have a basin with 3 rainfall stations around it. I would like to use the gage weights method in meteorologic models to calculate rainfall depths for each sub-basin. But my client ask me to use SCS storm type II to distribute the rainfall.

Can I apply scs storm patten while using the gage weights method?

Thank you so much!
Tony

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You have to define a 24-hour total rainfall depth.

Are the rainfall stations recording the rainfall depth?
Are they recording it on a hourly basis or twice a day, etc.?

If you're interested into a flow rate associated to a particular return period, you can perform a statistical analysis to relate the daily recorded rainfall depth to a particular probability. Then use a program (or Excel sheet) to generate the SCS-II (distribute it).

Or, you may want to find a station that is already giving you this total rainfall depth associated to a probability (e.g. 6 inches for 24 hours for a 25-year return period). Then you could still use your own storms (i.e. generated from the 3 stations) based on the recorded data.

Some thoughts...

This is what I don't understand.

All the rainfall data for the 3 stations are daily data only. I do have the rainfall depth for 24-hour design from the county technical manual (isohyets).

Could you explain what you said in detail?

Thanks!!!
Tony

Then you could perform a statistical analysis using the recorded 24 hour rainfall data. But this is probably an overkill for your project.