Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Helicoil into Quartz?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vc66

Mechanical
Sep 13, 2007
US
Hi All-

I have a higher temperature (200-300 °C) application where I need to use a helicoil.

I've never tried to use a helicoil in quartz before, and I'm wondering if anyone has experience with it (holding power, strength, etc.). It's not holding a great deal of weight, but I'm getting some push back about using it. I've looked online, and in these fora, but haven't found any info.

Most likely I would be using an Nitronic Helicoil to prevent galling.

Any experiences or advice is welcome.

V

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I suppose it could be done...

Caveats which you probably well know - brittle materials are tough to thread, and don't hold threads well, the usual failure mode is for the first thread to fail in shear, and then the next thread, and the next, unzipping down the line. Using a helicoil may help to spread the load out, if for no other reason than the thread is size or so larger where the coil engages the quartz. Differential expansion will be an issue, but again adding a helicoil will help by adding some tolerance "slop".

No way you can make it a through bolt/fastener?

Can't imagine that there would be anything for the helicoil to engage against. Wouldn't it be sitting in a smooth-walled hole, as opposed to a threaded hole in metal?

Is it molded in place? The thermal expansion of steel is something like 30 times that of quartz. That means that whatever you've threaded into the helicoil would be under huge compression at operating temperature, possibly enough to cause some cracking?

TTFN

FAQ731-376