Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HELP!_modelling an inlet tract within block...

Status
Not open for further replies.

sughew

Mechanical
Apr 30, 2005
GB
Hi, I am a newbie with Solidworks so bear with me....

I am trying to model a cylinder head with Solidworks 2001+.

My problem is that I cannot construct the inlet/exhaust tracts within the cylinder block (a simple cube).

I have tried to use the sweep function, but that only produces a solid. I want to extrude the shape within the block. The tracts are typical curved paths.

How could I model the tracts. It is very frustrating!

sughew

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

That's why you need to get a more up to date version. you can make cut-sweeps with I think SW03 and up.

You will have to construct it using surfaces most likely, but it's been so long since most of us used SW01+, I'm sure our way of thinking will not work as well, since the version you are using is way limited then what we use today.

Regards,

Scott Baugh, CSWP [pc2]
faq731-376

I like to model ports as solids, then do a body substract from the actual head, it gives you a very good visual on the port shape. I must admit I have no idea if it works in SW2001 (it sure does in 2004/2005)