Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Help me for compressor capacity calculation for our pilot plant

Asisraja D

Mechanical
Jan 3, 2024
IN
Dear professionals
i am working in a greenfield project and i am responsible for verifying utility design which provided by our consult but yesterday we have planned to install a compressor for our pilot plant. The problem is they have assigned me for this role yeah that's really nice opportunity for me but i am a basic in compression technology so my doubt is if anyone help me what are the base parameters or factors to be considered for compressor selection ? sorry i am asking very basically like design steps involved in compressor selection as a beginner i really don't know from where to start my design ?
if you want any details for this one, i am eager to provide and possibly i will start my calculations with all of your information and my personnel research too. i have tried from Horsepower calculation from rules of thumb for chemical engineers page.no:115 but it is really confusing then only i came here for some professionals ideas from where to start this ?

1.)Application : For instrumentation purpose.

Thank in advance to all of you.

"Strive for perfection in everything you do. Take the best that exists and make it better. When it does not exist, design it." - Sir Henry Royce

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

OK. Is this an instrument air system?

You need to know air volume and pressure required.

These are usually packages so not sure what exactly you are designing?

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

You should probably just be developing a specification and filling in the associated data sheets for budget quotes, bid inquiry, vendor proposal evaluation and purchase order.