Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help on electromagnetic door holder

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wsyzxxn

Mechanical
Nov 11, 2020
SG
Hi everybody,

I am a junior engineer seeking the advice of more experienced professionals on this forum. We have a fire door that will be kept open using an electromagnetic door holder during normal times and it will let go of the door when the fire alarm is activated.

Would a floor mounted or wall surface mounted door be better for this application? I read that the electronagnetic door holder should be fitted in the same horizontal plane or as close as practicable to the door closer to avoid inflicting twisting forces on the door leaf. In this case, would a wall mounted door holder be better?

Secondly, would a door holding force of 280N be sufficient for a 0.9m x 2.2m fire door? I imagine the calculation for door opening force would be different from calculating door holding force? I also thought of torque, but the holding force is in N instead of Nm.

Hope someone can give me some insight!

Thank you!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Go take a look at an existing installation.
Measure how much force it takes to hold the door. Or calculate it. Is wind a consideration? And of course, look at applicable building and fire codes that may dictate your course of action.

Thanks for your response! Is there a way to calculate the force? I can only think of the torque. But door holders give holding force in N instead of Nm, which is why I'm a little confused

Secondly, would a door holding force of 280N be sufficient for a 0.9m x 2.2m fire door?