Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help with design of computer input devices 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

dktoao

Mechanical
Jun 17, 2010
US
I am not an electrical engineer (although I did take a digital logic class) so please excuse the amateurishness of my questions. I think that I may have found a niche market for a specialized usb keypad input device for a computer. The questions I have pertain to how exactly I would go about making a prototype to test the idea. Keep in mind, when I ask these questions I need to know just enough so that I can find someone who can do it for me and how I can specify the different components so that they all to tie together nicely. Specifically, are there any good resources on:

PCB Design
Plastic Enclosure Design
Interfacing with a USB port
Hardware Drivers

Also, if there is anything else that I missed that would be important please let me know.

Lastly, are there any OEM manufacturer of say, keyboards or anything like that that can do custom stickers for the keys so that I can adapt their already made designs into a product?

Thank you all in advance for your help.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

"Specifically, are there any good resources"
Yes, there are, you just have to do a websearch for them.

And yes, again, you can search for manufacturers that make custom keypads and keyboards.

My question would be why? Is there such a driving need for any custom kayboard for any application? Most applications that I've seen that might have had a custom keyboard opt for custom GUI overlays and touchscreens. A typical example is restaurant wait-staff terminals.

TTFN

FAQ731-376
Chinese prisoner wins Nobel Peace Prize