Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Help with Draftsmen who wont follow instructions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

opeg1000

Civil/Environmental
Jun 23, 2024
NZ
I've been a Civil/Structural Engineer who almost always drafts my own work, in the rare case others have its usally not been an issue and worked out fine.
I recently got a pay raise and with that they asked me not to draft my own work anymore as it takes away from my design time (at the moment design work is our bottleneck) we have two drafters (one is in his 40's qualified and with 20+ years of experiance the other one is a grumpy old guy who used to work IT with <3 years of drafting experiance.

Obviously they asigned me the old guy who is exclusivily WFH and has only done civil drafting.

He will mess up both the structural and civil work i give him since he has a bad habit of doing his own thing and not asking questions if he gets stuck. I've tried writting lists with hold points for him to call me to see how hes going and he just ignored them.

In the last job i gave him some paramters for a retaining wall and asked him to grade the site along the alignment i had given him. I had asked him to make sections at each chainage and use trig to determine the offset and angle needed to tie into the hill side with minimal cut or fill not exceeding a specified angle. He comes back after 1 day with the same 2.5m high retianed grade all the way along the alignment (we are talking 100+m of retaining) it seems like he did a 5min job as he only had two grading rules for the entire site and didint even bother to align the stations on his feature line with the road chainages i had given him or even create sections at each chainage, the backfill was near vertical in places.