Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help with making low-temperature melting alloys (newb)

Status
Not open for further replies.

BarneyP

Computer
Oct 11, 2018
GB
Hi

Firstly, please be aware that I'm just a hobbyist and know next to nothing about metallurgy, so please be kind!

I've been experimenting with making low temperature alloys, in particular galinstan and Field's metal (Indium/Bismuth/Tin). Currently I'm just using a stovetop and stainless steel/cast iron cookware for melting the constituents, which is fine for Ga/In/Bi/Sn, though I'm going to start trying to incorporate copper and silver, for which I'll need something hotter. I'm hoping that the copper/silver amounts are small enough that a butane torch + a crucible may suffice, we'll see:)

My first problem is trying to remove the oxide layer which forms over the molten metals. So far, I've just stirred it into the molten metal, which doesn't seem to have greatly affected the alloys produced (their melting points are as expected and they show no visible tarnishing), but I think at least attempting to remove these impurities is probably a good idea.

I've read that borax might be used to absorb the oxides and that it should float to the top, but the only way I've read to remove it involves sulphuric acid, which cannot be bought in the UK without a license . So is there another approach?

Secondly, if I want to start melting higher melting point metals, can I avoid buying a furnace? I have an open fireplace - would a cast iron pan placed in the coals be sufficient for this - or do I just risk melting the pan?!

Many thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you