Help with practical Dust Explosion assessment 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

DoctorBond

Chemical
Apr 30, 2002
GB
Dear All,

I need some help regarding dust explosions. I have to assess wheather we can blow Titanium Oxide (TiO2)to atmosphere (about 2.5 Kg/day) or collect it in a dust collector (I am still working through the UK environmental legislation).

Assuming a dust collector is used however, how can I determine the dust explosion hazard??? Is there still a hazard in collectors??? As you can see I am quite new to the dust explosion subject, and all help is much appreciated.

I understand that dust explosions are related to temperature, any Idea where I can find out the minimum concnetratio at a given temperature for a dust explosion of Titanium Oxide (Ti02)????

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yes there remains a dust explosion hazard in dust collectors, as several hundred blow up annually. You need to reference NFPA 481 - Standard for the Production, Processing, Handling, and Storage of Titanium.

Here's some of what NFPA 481 says about titanium dusts and dust collection systems:

Industry experience has clearly demonstrated that an eventual explosion can be expected where a bag- or media-type collector is used to collect titanium fines. Seldom, if ever, can the source of ignition be positively identified. In those unusual instances where it becomes necessary to collect very small fines for a specific commercial product, it is customary for the producer to employ a bag- or media-type collector. Since this presents a strong explosion potential, the bag- or media-type collector should be located a safe distance from buildings and personnel.