Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Henry's Law question

Status
Not open for further replies.

AndrewTT

Mechanical
Jul 14, 2016
US
Be gentle, I am not a chemical engineer.

Situation)
A cylindrical vial with a known, internal volume is filled with an unknown (propriatary) fluid. There is a small air pocket left in the vial before it is sealed off. This vial is then loaded, in compression, with a large enough force to cause deformation of ~.005" in the length of the cylindrical vial. This force is not large enough to cause yielding of the vial, when the load is removed the vial returns to its original shape.

Question 1)
According to Henry's law some of the gas (air) in the vial will be dissolved into the fluid when the vial is compressed, correct?

Question 2)
When the compressive load is removed will the gas that dissolved into the liquid remain dissolved in the liquid?

Question 3)
Does the answer to question 2 depend upon the fluid?

That is really all of the info. I can provide. I appreciate all responses.

Thank you!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The equilibrium states before and after compression are the same, but time is needed to reach equilibrium. Air contains oxygen, which is a very reactive gas. Most vials are therefore purged with nitrogen before sealing.

P[sub]A[/sub] = x[sub]A[/sub]H[sub]A[/sub](T) ---> x[sub]A[/sub] = P[sub]A[/sub]/H[sub]A[/sub](T)

1) Yes. Some will be dissolved before the vial is compressed, just from whatever pressure is there before compressing. Compressing will increase the amount dissolved.

2) No. Only what was dissolved in the fluid before the compressing.

3) Yes, if the air (oxygen, nitrogen, carbon dioxide, etc.) reacts or bonds with the fluid it may not be reversible.

Good luck,
Latexman

To a ChE, the glass is always full - 1/2 air and 1/2 water.