Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HI-Help with Rocscience Slide

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjgeotech

Geotechnical
May 16, 2007
I am just learning slide--I have a slope with some water input below surface that is resulting in a combo slump and earth flow. Anyone have any pointers on how to enter the water aspect correctly into Rocscience's Slide program?

Thanks in advance!

J J Geotech

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

In the Boundaries tab, you will find Add Piezometric line. You will be able to draw the grundwater surface along the path you want. There are some other alternatives to do it, such as using the Ru coefficient. Ru models the pore pressure as a fraction of the vertical earth pressure for each slice. Check the help menu, it is very friendly. You are even able to perform seepage analyses. I find Slide much powerful and useful than many other more expensive softwares.

Thank you Gimbli! I also like Slide very much. I'm not sure which is the appropriate way to add the water--since I am not sure where it is coming from and what the residence time is. I figure since it is not truely a water table, maybe Ru is more appropriate--but here, I'm not sure what values to use for Ru..... I will investigate applying seepage. Thank you so much for your input-Back to Slide.

JJ Geotech

Totally off topic..but WTH.
When doing analysis for soils below water table, there is a option to include submerged unit weight. If its not selected the program assumes the total unit weight of soil. For pretty straight forward jobs like detention pond, it is professional practice to assume the submerged unit weight to be the total unit weight? Or should I make some kind of assumption for the unit weight based upon assumed specific gravity?