Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

hide IP addresses

Status
Not open for further replies.

RyreInc

Electrical
Apr 7, 2011
US
Not sure if this is the right location for this, or if there is an appropriate forum on this site... I'm pretty new to industrial networking concepts, if there's a better forum or site for this let me know!

I have a machine that uses 2 IP addresses (PLC and HMI) to communicate. These come into an unmanaged switch which also connects these devices to the plant network. The customer wants to see only one IP on their network though. Initially we thought a managed switch would do the trick, but it looks like even if communication is prevented the blocked IP will still be visible to the network. Speaking with a technical expert at one of our vendors pointed us to a Hirschmann EAGLE One, which will work, but has a lot of features we will not utilize, and is pretty expensive.

Are there any other options out there to hide an IP address from one device (the network) while allowing communication with another device?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Maybe put a cheap router between your machine and the network. Then turn on its IP filtering and or DMZ permissions to allow the rest of the network to only reach the one IP.

I'd ask this question in Eng-Tips sister site Tek-Tips. Bunch of very smart computer nerds there.

Keith Cress
kcress -

Thanks Keith, I posed the question over there, we'll see how they respond. In the meantime, anyone one else feel free to chime in!