Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

High rise window fail in San Francisco storm 2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm not at all surprised by the glass failing; it's a common problem in tall buildings, where stresses build up over time from building settling or movement, and the mounting has only so much compliance. My son lives in a 8 story condo and most of his front facing windows are cracked.

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

Is there an issue with tempered glass slowly relaxing the built in stresses over time, since glass is considered a 'supercooled' liquid. I understand some medieval stain glasses have 'flowed' a tad, and created an opening (Myth... see below).

-----*****-----
So strange to see the singularity approaching while the entire planet is rapidly turning into a hellscape. -John Coates

-Dik

thanks IRS... didn't know that. Excellent link...

-----*****-----
So strange to see the singularity approaching while the entire planet is rapidly turning into a hellscape. -John Coates

-Dik

Given the amount of it, can the internal stress, relax over a period of time?

-----*****-----

-Dik

There have been some high rise glass failures due to nickel sulphide inclusions. I think there will be an investigation, which will find the cause in this case.

Given the amount of it, can the internal stress, relax over a period of time?