Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

higher upstream static pressure!

Status
Not open for further replies.

naifmbo

Mechanical
Feb 23, 2002
SA
is it possible that in an inclined discharge line from the pump that the static pressure in the lower level(50 m from pump discharge) will be higher than that in the higher level (pump discharge)? if it is ,how water will move from low to high pressure?.

thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

When you say static pressure are you refering to the line pressure when the pump is off?

I'm not a real engineer, but I play one on T.V.
A.J. Gest, York Int./JCI

Static pressure always increases with lower elevation in a closed piping system. In fact, you must check your pipe pressure allowable at the lowest point in the system. That is where you will usually find the highest pressures, even if the pump is on, but it does depend on how much static pressure you gain with elevation decrease verses dynamic (flow) loss per foot of pipe when running.

It is not the static pressure that moves the water from point to point in a closed piping system. In fact, static pressure plus flowing pressure loss is what must be overcome with your pump when you turn it on. If the pump is properly sized, it will add pressure (head) sufficient to overcome the static differential pressure and the pressure losses due to the liquid flowing in the pipe.

To naifmbo, the answer to your query is: yes ! Water in a pipe can move from lower to higher pressures. It is mechanical energy that moves the fluid, not just pressure.