Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Hold Downs to Multi Storey Residential Building

Status
Not open for further replies.

Supun93

Structural
Nov 28, 2019
LK
Hi. I'm designing a two storey timber house. There are several questions i need to ask.
1.Do we need to have holdowns in first floor similar to the holdowns in the ground floor or will the WSPs will resist the lateral loads on the 1st Floor?
2.If we need to go for straps of HDUs, how do I know it?
3.Where do we need strong walls to be installed?
I'm still new to designs. So, please be kind enough to explain me with the basics.
Thank you

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm assuming you mean ground floor as the lowest level and the 1st floor as the first elevated floor - correct? (In my part of the world that's just first and second floor, or ground floor and second floor in some places, so I just want to make sure I understand you.

1. You've got it flipped around. Do the upper floor first, and then follow the load path. You'll have hold downs at each end, and that tension has to find its way to the foundation.

2. Do you mean straps OR HDUs? It's all based on the demand and the arrangement. Straps are generally weaker than hold downs. Straps are hard to install at interior locations. So you pick it based on the capacity and constructibility.

3. That question is a bit too broad to answer. By strong walls, are you referring to the proprietary product manufactured by Simpson, or using it as a generic name for shear walls?