Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

holes to slots

Status
Not open for further replies.

oldmanneri

Mechanical
Sep 1, 2004
CA
I am modifying a sheet metal part that someone else created. I want to turn all the holes into slots. what is the quickest most effective way to do this. And yes I am a bit of a newb. I think the guy used the hole wizard to make the holes. I also don't want to lose the X/Y table for the holes in the associated drawing.

thanks in advance

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

oldmanneri,
I do not have time to try this, but maybe you can. Create a slot on a new sketch then align the center of the slot with the center of the hole. The slot will remove the hole but should not affect your X/Y Table. Try it on one hole and slot before doing them all, to see how things go.
Good luck.

Bradley

"Quickest way" ? Quickest for you, or ??

Last time I did this, they also decided to go BACK to holes... sometimes.

I made the Holes 2 sets of arcs with .0001" flats between them. The CAM software ignored these .0001" amounts when outputting "holes", and correctly identified them "circles". When I changed the cfg to make the .0001 flats a more appreciable amount, it correcly identified them as abrounds.

Maybe flatten the part, cut-extrude rectangles between the holes to create slots. Also don't have time to try right now. Hope this helps.

I think I would create a Library Feature of the slot, then drag them into the model, and associate them to the existing hole locations.

"But what... is it good for?"
Engineer at the Advanced Computing Systems Division of IBM, 1968, commenting on the microchip.
Have you read faq731-376 to make the best use of Eng-Tips Forums?