Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Honey comb modeling 8

Status
Not open for further replies.

kotawsu

Mechanical
Dec 26, 2004
US
Hello everyone, I am new to NE nastran and i want to analyse a honeycomb structure with aluminum facings and a honeycomb core. Could anyone guide me as to how to assign the material properties and is there any example which would be useful. I would really appreciate any kind of help. Thanks
Sakota

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Sakota,

You are trying to enter a "sandwich" composite. You will first want to define othotropic materials for your honeycomb and, although it is isotropic, it is easier to define an "orthrotropic aluminum". "orthotropic aluminum" has the same material properties in all directions, but it allows you to select it when defining your property. Honeycomb cores have known directional properties...you can get them from the manufacturer. Enter the two different materials (aluminum and honeycomb) so that you can select them when you are defining your thick (sandwich) composite property. This should get you started.

Garland

Garland E. Borowski, PE

Look in the NEiNastran User's Manual, Special Topics section. There is a sandwich example there.

There are 2 ways you can do this:

1. Use a composite laminate property and define 3 layers. Layer 1 is the bottom facesheet, layer 2 the core, and layer 3 is the top face sheet. In the Reference Manual under PCOMP you will see some other settings field 9 (LAM) that allow you to specify the core type for facesheet stability index calculations. You would need to change these in the Editor. This step is optional.