Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Horizontal Cylinder Under External Pressure based on AS1210 Clause 3.9

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ray2020

Mechanical
Sep 14, 2019
AU
Hi Everyone,

I'm a recent graduate currently learning pressure vessel design. Im building a spreadsheet which determines the minimum thickness for a pressure vessel under external pressure. I hope someone is able to give me some feedback on what I have done until now. In this thread I'm approaching designers who are familiar with AS1210 as I'm not sure if ASME carries out the same procedure when calculating minimum thickness for external pressure.

AS1210 Clause 3.9 mentions an iterative procedure to determine the minimal thickness for cylinders under external pressure. Next I will share what I've done step by step.

1. Firstly I assume a thickness, lets say t = 3 mm.
2. Use t to determine number of circumferential buckling lobes n from equation 3.9.3(4) for the effective length Le under investigation. The mean diameter Dm will be (I.D. + t) and Z is the external pressure factor (Z=Pi*D/2L).
3. Use n, t, Dm, Z to determine Aa the circumferential strain.
4. Use Aa, E (Youngs Modulus), Dm and t to determine Pe from 3.9.3(5). Pe is the pressure to cause elastic buckling.
5. Use t, Y (specified minimum Yield stress), and Dm to determine Py from 3.9.3(6). Py is to cause plastic buckling.
6. Compare Pe and Py and then either use 3.9.3(7) or 3.9.3(8) depending on the comparison result to determine P.
7. If P value is less than P_external then t shall be increased.

I created a spreadsheet which keeps increasing t by increments of 0.1 mm.

8. After reaching the correct P, apply under tolerance to thickness and repeat calculation for that thickness only.