Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Horizontal drain alternatives 8

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hbone

Industrial
May 29, 2003
US
I have a fairly steep cut embankment, stability problem.

The embankment consists of varying sized cobblestones and alternating layers of varved clay--glacial till soils--with an underlying layer of firm gray clay. The slide is of a circular / rotational type and is visually heaving at the toe almost four feet high. The top of the embankment has a 4-5 foot scarp, and accompanied by tension cracks throughout the upper portion of the bank.

At the bottom of the embankment is a truck terminal lot, light poles--which are now leaning at 15 degrees--and a water main about 15 feet ahead of the tip of the slide. Through test boring, and utilizing the PASTABLE Slope Stability Analysis Program, we have determined that the major cause of the instability is due to a large amount of underground (an artesian head) and surface water.

Recommendations include the installation of horizontal drains, and from what I have been reading throughout the threads here, that horizontal drains in this type of soil may not be feasible. Could this endeavor be an expensive risk and unnecessary risk?

Limiting possible solutions is the property boundary at the top of the embankment--eliminating the ability to cut a shallower bank.

Any ideas or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

[hourglass]

Replies continue below

Recommended for you