Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Horsepower questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

blowngasket

Automotive
Nov 23, 2001
US
First let me say that I'm not a professional. I'm more of a hobbiest, but that wasn't on the list when I signed up, so you'll have to excuse my lack of knowledge.

1) My first question is how horespower (and torque) are measured, exactly. I don't know exactly how a dyno works, but to calculate power I would think that you would measure how fast the engine can accelerate a known mass and in what amount of time it takes to do so. If this is this correct, what's the formula here? The next thing is torque. It's measured in ft/lbs, so I'm thinking it is a measurement of force? If that were true and I have an engine that produces 300ft/lbs of torque, is that to say that it produces a force of 300 lbs one foot away from the center of rotation? I don't really know, but that doesn't seem like very much to me. Also, I have a friend who thinks he read somewhere that all horsepower and torque curves cross at 5,250 rpm because of the forumla's used to compute the two. My logic arugment for this was what about engines that don't rev to 5250, such as diesels. Is there any truth to this, or is it just an invalid conclusion based similarities in observed data?