Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How can an (experienced) foreign find work in the US? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

gunturs

Structural
Jan 30, 2013
ID
Hello,

I am from Southeast Asia. I came to the US right after highschool and received my bachelor's and master's in Civil/Structural from a university in Illinois, and passed the FE/EIT right after I got my BSc. I then worked for a couple companies in Chicago. In 2009, the company I was working for wasn't (and still not) doing so well, so I was let go. Instead of waiting around for an extended period of time, I decided to go back to my home country to work and do business here. After a while, I realized that I really would rather work in the US instead of here in my home country.

Here are some of my concerns:
1) My line of work differs greatly. My jobs back in the US consisted of mainly consulting work (I provided contractor support for my first job; and designed power plants components in my second job). But my work here mostly deals with the business and marketing side of things (construction/contractor, and also housing residence development). How do companies view differing work fields like this?
2) I got my EIT back in 2002. Back then, as my previous employer was a big company (3000+ engineers+drafters at its peak, and they had 60-ish PE holders for Illinois), I was not required to take PE and hence didn't take it. Would it look bad for me if I have so much time after getting EIT and still not obtaining my PE?
3) I don't have green card/permanent residence and hence I'll need sponsorship. How is the job climate nowadays?