Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

How critical are full penetration butt welds in joining two pipes for low pressure systems? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Headphone5

Mechanical
May 16, 2023
US
We had a vendor construct a small 2in piping system spec'd to ASME B31.3. MAWP is 200psig.

The pieces came back and didn't have full penetration welds for joining things like elbows and T-sections. Meaning they had a solid exterior weld but on the inside you couldn't see the weld, only the seam where the two pipe sections meet. This stood out to me but I'm not an expert by any means.

ASME B31.3 seems to require full penetration. But our vendor, whose expertise we trust and have a good relationship with, says it is pretty difficult to get full penetration on sch40 2". I kind of find this hard to believe. But since we're only at 200psig I'm wondering how necessary this is.

So I guess those are my 2 questions,
1. Is full penetration overkill for 200psig?
2. Is it pretty common to forgo full penetration when trying to meet ASME B31.3?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Review B31.3 Table 341.3.2. Some incomplete penetration may be allowed as long as the piping is not required to meet Severe Cyclic requirements.

Thank you,

What I'm reading there is for Girth welds in normal service incomplete penetration is acceptable as long as it less than 1.5" of the length of the weld.

These pipes don't have any complete penetration. They are nicely welded on the outside, but on the interior there is just a seam where the two pieces of pipe meet.

The interior seam looks like the below picture, although without the rust and rough edges.

Capture_ki0d7n.jpg

ASME B31.3 seems to require full penetration