Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

How do you approach mentoring? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

zldh

Mechanical
Apr 3, 2017
US
Since getting my first ME job out of college 10 years ago, I have heard more senior engineers tell me about the good old days when they would get sent to the Trane Little Red Schoolhouse HVAC courses (or in person course) and how they had a formal process for mentoring up engineers. I personally wish I could have experienced this method but realize the company/employee relationship doesn't really support these long term development plans anymore. I'm now in that nebulous range of "I'm not brand new but I'm also not a seasoned engineer" and I have been placed in charge of some new college grads/junior engineers (<2 yr). I'm struggling with getting deliverables out the door while also helping the junior engineers progress with the basics. I need them to be affective not just for their future success but also because it's too much work to do it alone.

My question is this: How do you approach mentoring new college grads/junior engineers while not letting deliverables get out of control?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

#1. Communication - #1 reason why business and projects fail.
set & establish the expectations/deliverables within established codes, standards, guidelines, etc. There needs to be accountability for not meeting expectations/deliverables. Preach reliability for those employees that the company can rely/depend on under abnormal situations or unforeseen events.

this should get you started & I'm certain others will reply . . .

Agree with pmover....communication is key and it has to be consistent. Check in with your protege routinely. I am currently mentoring 5 young engineers who are pursuing their PE...all are at least 3 years away. We have weekly meetings and I give assignments for them to work on, in addition to their project work.