Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How is a hand probe test evaluated?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ae11

Structural
Apr 1, 2008
US
Disclaimer - I'm a structural engineer, so I'm only somewhat familiar with the geotech side. I've seen geotechnical engineers and testing agencies probing soils with a hand probe (essentially a welded "T" rebar assembly). I understand in concept what there doing here - testing bearing capacity and soil density - but what are they really looking for? What distinguishes a good hand probe test from a bad one? How much force are they using to jam the probe in the soil? Are we talking 50 lbs of force resulting in 1/4" soil penetration, or 15 lbs giving 1/2" penetration? I'm interested in this mostly in projects where there's less likely to be a geotech involved, like in light residential construction. Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The probe is subjective, and will depend on what you are looking for, and how you use it. It generally gives you an indication of loose/soft soils, and the extent they may go to.

I generally use a full body lean into the probe. Depending on my weight that season, the force varies. It also varies as the probe goes into the ground and the position of the rod changes to the body position. I usually use only one steady lean, and do not "jam" it. I may use repeated pushes if trying to find the bottom of some deep, soft materials. As the rod goes in, the resistance will increase along the shaft.

In my opinion, it really only gives you an indication, and should be used with proper judgment and experience with the soils. The probe will act differently in sands vs clays.