Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

How many miles on synthetic motor oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Prototyper

Mechanical
Aug 12, 2005
PH
My research indicates that your common gasoline engine can be driven about 12,000 miles between oil changes before contaminates become a concern for induced wear. Some feel a filter change half way is a good idea. Any experiences with extend synthetic oil change intervals?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have no direct experience with extended drain intervals since I have a turbocharged vehicle. However these people may have some info for you.

I always thought that the life of the detergent package was more critical to oil life than amount of contaminates.

Nick
I love materials science!

For the past 10 years I've gone a year (10-12k miles) between oil and filter changes (using synthetic oil). No problems so far.

I've never really understood the filter change more frequent than the oil change concept. If your engine is generating that much tramp metal it is a gonner already. I use Amsoil ASL 5W30 and change every 6 months regardless of milage.

FYI, this has been beaten to death in the automotive lubricants forum of this site. My last car recommended 15000-22000mi between oil changes (synthetic). Oil analysis showed that the TBN was getting pretty low at 21k-mi, but the oil wasn't acidic yet, soot was low, wear metals were low, viscosity had crept up quite a bit. I suspect that changing the oil much sooner to avoid the vicosity increase would have paid off monetarily, if I exclude my inconvenience to do it.

I second ivymike.

This has already been extensively covered. Try a site search.

Regards

eng-tips, by professional engineers for professional engineers
Please see FAQ731-376 for tips on how to make the best use of Eng-Tips Fora.