How many repairs before replacement for storage tank? 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

hamidinho

Petroleum
Nov 29, 2022
DZ
Hello everyone,

I have a quick question, how many repairs can we make to a bottom of a storage tank before it is required for us to replace it all ? If it is mentioned in API 653 which section will i found it ?

Thank you

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Make enough repairs and you'll end up replacing it....

Don't believe this is in the realms of the code to determine what is really an economic decision.

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

I'm a junior engineer in this filed that don't have much experience so i thought that it would be mentioned in the code. Thank you for your answer so it depends on its state.

I think so, but others may have a bit more information.

But these things are usually an economic or schedule issue in that repairs are normally more expensive per m2 than a complete renewal.

The tank floor is just there to stop the contents coming out, it's not really a structural thing.

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

This is strictly a personal opinion ... but here goes ...

I believe that it is worthwhile to periodically excercise vendors and contractors to get up-to-date estimates for equipment replacement.

Anytime a repair estimate exceeds 40% of the estimate fo an entirely new component, the components should be replaced.

Pumps, compressors etc are pretty easy to get replacement costs ..... but

Periodic accurate replacement costs for large custom built tanks, pressure vessels, columns etc ... may be more difficult

MJCronin
Sr. Process Engineer