Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

How much experience did you have when you started your business? Career stalling where I'm at now 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

MidwestSE

Structural
May 30, 2014
US
I have been a structural engineer for roughly 4 years now and am about to take the SE exam. I relocated a year ago for family reasons and now and it appears that my professional growth is going to stall if nothing at my work changes in the near future, which I don't anticipate it will. As of now, the senior engineer spends about an hour reviewing the buildings I design, and there are never any technical redlines. As extra icing on the cake, I don't agree with my current company's attitude toward developing staff and general code of conduct as well, as I often find myself in uncomfortable situations. Long story short, it's not an atmosphere that nurtures the growth of people, both on a personal and professional level-both of which are very important to me. The first company I worked at out of college intentionally fostered both and the difference in worker attitude at the different companies is clearer than night and day.

All of my experience has been in the same subject and I think that my technical skills and understanding of structural engineering (for the stuff I've professionally grown up doing and want to continue doing) are good enough to consider starting my own engineering firm.

How far into your career were you when you felt you were ready to begin your own practice?

I am aware of the time and expenses involved with starting a business-I've been researching that aspect for several months now. I've always wanted to own my own company or be a partner with the right people; when do you think you were ready if you are/were an owner?

Thanks in advance for any input!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you