Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How old is too old ? (to begin a BS in ME) ? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

noen

Mechanical
Dec 18, 2005
US
After a misdirected youth I'd like to go back to school and pursue a BS in either Mech. or Materials.
I'd be 38 at graduation. Too old? Be honest, I can take it.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Engineering was my third major career path. I graduated with a BS in engineering when I was in my mid forties. No problems finding a job. I am PE at this time and believe that my age and past experience was more of an advantage than a disadvantage.

GO FOR IT!! Particularly if you are sufficiently clear that it's what you want to do.

My wife is finishing up her residency at age 44.

I recall reading a news story about a woman who passed the bar at age 77.

TTFN

I say go for it also. It is also a big plus if you already have either Mech. or Materials experience.
Good luck!

Chris
Systems Analyst, I.S.
SolidWorks 06 4.1/PDMWorks 06
AutoCAD 06
ctopher's home (updated 06-21-06)

I strongly suggest that you try before you buy. In particular you may find that maths is your biggest headache, so grab a decent engineering maths textbook and see how you go. I like Advanced Engineering Mathematics by Kreyszig, but then I'm weird. Schaum Outlines are cheaper and have more examples and are more focussed.

Cheers

Greg Locock

Please see FAQ731-376 for tips on how to make the best use of Eng-Tips.

Good idea from Greg. Try it. You can also sign up for an online course that is self paced, to give you an idea of what some classes are.

Chris
Systems Analyst, I.S.
AutoCAD 06

Never too old to chase your dreams.