Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to aproach large and disorganised assemblies in solidworks ? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

marianw88

Automotive
Jul 21, 2012
GB
Hello everyone,
I have just signed in and will get straight to the point with my problem. I am a recent graduate and just started cad position in small company which is mainly dealing with vehicle chassis assemblies. The problem for me at work are large assemblies of the vehicle chassis which have: under-defined elements, references broken, parts doubled, no naming on parts and overall is really difficult to work with, not mentioning it take ages to open, rebuild and change any off the features. Can you please tell me how to approach such assemblies in SolidWorks ? Is there any way to fix them quickly, automatically ? Any easy way to remodel them, apart from modelling each of the elements again and then put by mates together in new assembly?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

My main task is to prepare the parts to be manufactured : open each part in SolidWorks than unfold, nest and send to laser to be cut, bend and folded. But my question is: is there any quick way to fix the assemblies which were modelled by someone else? There are two ways I see I can do it, one is start from scratch and remodel all parts and put them back in new assembly, other one, try to fix the assembly I got from customer by removing broken links, renaming the parts one by one, try to remove the references between parts ( which in some cases are real deep and 10 parts gets modified when you try to change one). Therefore I ask some more experienced modellers how they would do it if they would have to work with such assemblies.