Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to Balance Flows between two Claricones

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rover886

Civil/Environmental
Mar 21, 2004
US
Hey there guys. Got a situation where I have two claricones. I need to balance the flow between the two. Each feed pipe flowing into a claricone has a control valve and a magmeter to read back flow. I know I need a PID for each of the valve controllers but I think I need a third PID' output to act as a valve position controller. I am trying to maximize flow through each cone while balancing the flow to each one at the same time. Anyone ever run across this. This is my first time with this problem.

Thanks

Rover886

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Do you have room to install a flow splitting structure? You could fabricate such a structure with two wiers each set at the same level so flow is split evenly. One pipe into the center, flow over the weirs, and two pipes out, one to each cone. The structure will have to be higher than the cones so it may take some piping up the side of the head tank and then back down to the cone inlet piping.

How are you determining this maximum flow? Dependent upon the answer, it could be as simple as three lines of PLC logic. Based upon my exposure to CBI's claricone clarifier's build weir structures doesn't seem to be the answer. This would have to be accomplished through PI control using the FIT's and the CV's as mentioned and is most likely not that complicated.

brennans7