Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to be a successful geotechnical engineer

Status
Not open for further replies.

rainandcm

Geotechnical
Jan 22, 2015
US
I am a geotechnical engineer but not a successful one. I have a MS degree and just got my PE recently, which obviously didn't help much in how I feel about myself doing my work. I found that Geotechnical engineering is always challenging. Not much codes to follow, a lot of analysis instead of design, requires a lot of understanding in details instead of just in general. I've been working for 2 years now and still struggle, still couldn't handle projects on my own. I've been trying to study by myself and has been learning a lot. Still, I found that I know way less than what I needed. I am a hard worker. I feel I need more efficient ways to study, or need to know what I need to study. What was learned in school was not enough. Any opinions on how to be sucessful in geotechnical engineering? Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I get the impression that you didn't know what you were getting into and, now that you do know, you're completely overwhelmed. I think you need to ask yourself if Geo-technical engineering is where you really want to be. If it is, then find yourself a good mentor and learn all that you can from them. Book learning is good, practical experience is great.

Jeff Mirisola, CSWE
My Blog