Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to be competitive in the industry? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andres117

Jan 19, 2012
VE
Hi everyone, I'm an Aeronautical Engineer who finished College on July/2014 and I'm looking forward for some feedback on Engineers working in the Aerospace Industry.

Right now I'm working in the Maintenance Planning department in one of the major airlines in my country, the same airline I made my industrial internships; the people I work with are amazing and the enviroment is really cool but I just don't like it.

I feel I'm not really working with "Engineering", here in my country there is only one path for Aeronautical Engineers being it "Maintenance" so we only work in airlines or some small Aicraft Maintenance Organizations (AMOs) and sadly the "Maintenance" industry is really weak. 80% of the airlines here works ONLY with old aircrafts (DC-9, MD-80) so they just buy parts and such from aicraft boneyards and a lot of times it's easier to buy a "new" one than to repair a damaged one.

I work for the only airline who has more recent aicraft (CRJ-700, ERJ-190, etc..) but I still don't feel I'm doing something I like...

I want to work with composite materials, designing parts, structures, testing materials, maintenance of structures, etc.. and that's something I'll only be able to do outside of my country and I'm really scared my CV is not strong enough to even be considerated for any job/postgraduate in this branch...

What would a good company consider important in a recently graduated engineer in the aerospace sector?