Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to become a partner 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

landguy

Civil/Environmental
Nov 13, 2005
US
I have been working for the same small company for about ten years now, I joined in within the first year of that company's life, its a very small company, myself and the owner (both of us PE and PLS)and one field crew, and thats it, not even a receptionist. and since day one I was promised a partneship some times down the road, so I worked as hard as I can, but all what that did is shifted more reposibilities from the owner to me, and every time I talk about becoming a partner with the owner, he gives me some execuse and says next year for sure I will offer you to buy some shares. Since I got my surveying license earlier this year, I have been doing every thing in the office from shceduling field crews, to design work to answering phones, the owner comes in at 10:30 or 11:00 and usually does billing, taxes, and pay roll only. I sat down with him recently to discuss becoming a partner, and he said: beginning of the new year for sure, and told me that he has to evaluate the company, and then offer me a percentage of that to buy, but he says that he expect it to be worth 2 millions. that sounds way above the line for me, since all we own is few computers, furnitue, the regular office equipment, one field crew gear, and one field van. could his price be reasonable? any thoughts on this? thanks
p.s. this is related subject in to: thread732-90370

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

From the way you have written the story and that he has been putting you off for 10 years, it sounds like he is trying to make you stop asking for your part. After a decade of promise I would be kinda bitter.