Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to deal with your boss? 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

sahinoz

Industrial
Jan 29, 2003
US
Hello all,
I am having some issues with my project engineer lately. I graduated recently, and am working as an engineer in a company for about two months. I was assigned a project a month ago and I was able to submit it succesfully. However, my boss never really showed any close attention or interest throughout the time I was working on the project. I was seeing him around with other engineers and making comments about their work. For a whole month, we got together only two times to review my progress and that was it. I don't know if this is the way things work in the company. The problem is, I don't want to look like a slacker and get fired. I have a great interest in what I do and passion to improve myself further more. Can anyone please give me some advice on how to overcome this issue between me and my boss.
Thanks,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

What makes you think that there's a problem? It may be that the others require more hand-holding.

I see no reason whay you can't take the initiative to ask your lead engineer how you are progressing.

Note that this is a two-edge sword; too much interacting can make it look like you need a lot of hand-holding or pumping up.

TTFN

In the 2 meetings you had, how was the interaction ? Positive ? If yes, you are on track.

If no, talk to him and find out how you are progressing. After 15 years, I continue to do this once in 6 months with my boss. This is apart from the routine performance appraisals and employee evaluation.

HVAC68