How to face complex structures

Status
Not open for further replies.

gatzss

Marine/Ocean
Jun 28, 2011
ES
Hello,

I am a mechanical engineer with 10 years of FEA experience. I have read a lot of theory about the subject, but didnt find any book/course/tutorial,which can help us complex structures, I mean, all show how to face singularities, hourglassing, etc, but I couldnt find any course which establishes a procedure to face structures like the showing one:

image001_poamqz.png
image002_zs8f4b.png
image003_c8szsk.png

This structure, has been optimized to static environment, but the showed one, is an spectrum analysis, where the normal and shear stresses are very high.

If it where a simple structure, I would change the geometry, or add inertia/area, where the stresses are high, but a logical aproach of changing-proofing will take to much time, and probably wont give the optimal structure.

Anyone knows if there is a document of procedure to face this kind of complex-redundant structures.

Thank You

Regards

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It depends on the particular case but in general, the following techniques are used for large models:
- simplifying the geometry (including fewer details)
- using shell and beam elements wherever possible
- taking advantage of symmetry
- treating selected parts as rigid
- using bonded connections instead of nonlinear contact conditions
- using submodeling and substructuring (superelements)

last time I checked a real structure doesn't have singularities. The solid should have "proper" fillet rads, don't suppress them. Mesh the crap out of it. I just finished a model of a 1,000,000 TET10s ... ok, it took an hour to run, and I could only run one load case at a time, but so what. If I Had to I'd've learned re-starts to speed up the multiple cases (but I have only 10 so "rinse, repeat").

"Hoffen wir mal, dass alles gut geht !"
General Paulus, Nov 1942, outside Stalingrad after the launch of Operation Uranus.