Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to get a job in a European country? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

gt5879c

Civil/Environmental
Oct 31, 2006
US
Let's just say, hypothetically speaking, that I wanted to move to Europe. For the benefit of this conversation, let's say Rome, Italy, in particular. Aside from the fact that I would have to learn how to speak Italian fluently, how would I go about finding a job there? I am a civil engineer - a profession that is useful anywhere in the world. Are there websites that have job listings overseas? Or would it be better to just move there first, then find the job?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yes there are websites with job listings overseas, thinkjobs.com comes to mind, and actually while speaking Italian would be extremely helpful it is not absolutely necessary.

One approach would be to get a job with a company with operations over there, then work on a transfer. Does it have to be Rome? General Electric for instance has a compressor operation in Florence. Hiring on with GE in the US and then working a transfer to Italy would be an approach.

Usually visa requirements are such that you need to have an employer to sponsor you prior to moving over. I am not sure what the requirements are in Italy, but my experience with Holland was you could only be there for a couple months before you had to have the visa issues sorted out.

-The future's so bright I gotta wear shades!

GE does not have much use for civil engineers.

My wife works for them and we have moved country with them twice. They have never had an internal job appropriate for my profession.