Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to get non-engineers to understand what an engineer knows? 22

Status
Not open for further replies.

CheckThePlug

Mechanical
Feb 1, 2011
US
Hello,

I've had a problem the past few months at my new job. I am the only mechanical engineer on staff at a product development department that is part of a larger service department, yet my bosses, etc. never seem to want to listen to what I say about matters of mechanical function. It's almost as if they think I have a degree in Solidworks drafting. When I worked in the oilfield, when an engineer spoke, everyone listened, but here, they treat me like I don't know anything and will run anything I say past the service techs and side with them if they say something different. How do I get people to understand the intimate mechanical understanding a mechanical engineer has without making people belligerent or defensive and just ultimately make come off as an egomaniac? It's very frustrating for someone to say something objectively wrong in contrast to what I'm saying and then their response is the one taken as fact.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Be patient! You will have to prove you know what you are talking about. I don't mean this derogatorily, but just because you have a ME degree doesn't mean you are a good engineer. It means you have passed the ME exam. The service techs have probably proven themselves over time (or hidden their mistakes) and are trusted. You will have to earn that same trust.

Just point out the potential problems (preferably in writing, email, Skype, etc) and if they don't accept your suggestion, bite your tongue and allow time to prove you correct.

DO NOT argue with stupid people.
DO NOT attempt to educate them.