Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

How to handle drawings and part number/drawing number?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mechdesigner87

Industrial
Aug 16, 2018
US
My turn to open the can of worms. I have dug for two days and read post after post and understand the arguments for numbering systems...however, that is NOT what this post is about. We HAVE a numbering system in place. My goal is to more figure out the drawing/part relationship.

Up until now in my 10 year career as a Mechanical Designer, I worked for a place that used a base part numbering system with dash numbers to represent variations (such as screw lengths). Drawing number would be the base number (12345), but by default EVERY part got a "-1" tagged to the end and variations thereafter were So for drawing 12345, there may be 5 parts on there -1 thru -5 represented through a tabulated format. The system worked great. If there was a change to say -2, then it was noted in the Revision Control Table. But as a whole, the document was revised up to the next revision level. No issues.

At the new job, we have drawings that use the same methodology from the old numbering system (example 8002-645H1 drawing number, 8002-645H1-01, -02, etc parts represented on the drawing with tables). HOWEVER, at some point we introduced SAP, and all of those part numbers mean nothing in SAP. We can search them but are getting away from using them in any form.

With that being said, SAP assigned new part numbers to all of those dash numbered parts (ex: 8002-645H1-01 became 20088123) The issue is now EVERY dashed part has its own unique random number. So HOW can I represent a tabulated drawing now of 12 parts that no longer have the same base number but all have random different numbers. What the heck do I call my drawing number?