Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to plot Mode shapes of a structure using its frequencies

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patkin

Jan 27, 2012
IR
Dear friends,

I am a beginner in the mechanical vibration field. I have the EOM ( Equation Of Motion ) of my problem in the standard form ( Mx[sub]tt[/sub]+Cx[sub]t[/sub]+Kx=0).Then, in the next stage, I uesd State-space form ( AX[sub]t[/sub]+BX=0 ) of my EOM to calculate the eigenvalues of the system in order to extract the natural frequencies and damping parameters ( Landa=c+iw : c= damping parameter and w= frequency ). Now I want to plot the mode shapes of my system. I want to put my frequency in a equation and then it plots the corresponding mode shapes of that frequency. I don't know how to do that.

Could you please help me with the problem ?!

Thank you in advance. [glasses]

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Even lumped models have mode "shapes"... they are just discrete values... one per modeled node, rather than continuous functions of the spatial variables.

When you solve the system ( Mxtt+Cxt+Kx=0), you are solving an eigenvalue problem. The eigenvalues are the modal frequencies, the eigenvectors are the associated modeshapes.

=====================================
(2B)+(2B)' ?

electricpete said:
Even lumped models have mode "shapes"... they are just discrete values... one per modeled node, rather than continuous functions of the spatial variables.
should have been
Even lumped models have mode "shapes"... they are just defined at discrete spatial values... one per modeled node, rather than being defined over continuous ranges functions of the spatial variables.

=====================================
(2B)+(2B)' ?