Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to prepare for an entry level mechanical engineering interview

Status
Not open for further replies.

kisangoli57

Electrical
Dec 12, 2020
RO
I have an interview coming up this week at a medical devices company and I was wondering what others have done to prepare for an entry level mechanical engineering interview? What kinds of questions should I be prepared to answer besides the obvious behavioral questions? Are they likely to ask me difficult technical questions? I graduated over a year ago so I am kind of rusty, which is why I am concerned about this specifically.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

kisangoli57 (Electrical) === entry level mechanical engineering

THAT would seem to be a major issue.

Do you have a portfolio of coursework done, particularly anything innovative?
I would expect, but YMMV, that someone will ask technical questions, up to and including theory, but primarily to assess your problem solving skills, or lack thereof.

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

good luck with your interview, just be true to yourself, since they are looking for entry level they will train you.
answer honestly at the same time show confidence you can do the job. and act very eager

being "rusty" after only a year out from school is a worrying sign.

admitting to feeling "rusty" is possibly a good sign !?

don't blow smoke ... if they ask you something and you've NO idea say so. if you've an inkling of an idea say so. if you're confident you've a good answer, say so.

another day in paradise, or is paradise one day closer ?