Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to search the database for the creator

Status
Not open for further replies.

SrGilberto

Mechanical
Oct 13, 2004
US
Hi,
(using WF5.0 and Windchill)
I'm relatively new to Windchill. I'd like to search commonspace for the creator. I haven't yet figured out how to do that type of search. Surely it can be done, right? Can someone give me a clue?
Thanks
SrG.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

On the search page, go to advanced search

Select Search Criteria at the bottom and choose criteria Created By and then select the operator and value and hit the search button.

"Wildfires are dangerous, hard to control, and economically catastrophic."

Ben Loosli

This appears to be the correct way to do it. But this is not working for me. I'd like to search for all the Pro-e parts that I've created in Windchill and by default the box labeled "Search For:" has "Document" entered into the field. There is a "Find" button next to it and when I select that a dialog box pops up that allows me to choose what type document to search for. I select "Part". Then, as you've mentioned, I search criteria as created by, equals, my name. The results are just the objects with the gray gear icon (the "WT" part). I was expecting, and hoping, to find all my Pro-E part objects. That selection, however, is not an option in the "Search For:" field. So how do I find the Pro-e part objects rather than the WT parts?

You are not searching for 'Part' which is the WTpart.
You want to search for the 'EPM Document' which is the holder of the CAD files.

Ben Loosli

Search, then Adavanced Search