Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to simulate muscle material properties?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sofiaahuca

Bioengineer
Jun 5, 2017
ES
Hi! I'm a beginner in the Solidworks world. I'm trying to simulate the strains suffered by the rectus femoris muscle. I already created the morphological model which contains the muscle itself and the two tendons. I have come across some doubts/problems when trying to figure out which material and properties should I use. My doubts are the following:

1. I have read a lot of information on the internet and several papers, trying to find out which kind of material (and its properties) should I use to fit the muscle properties. That is quite hard since most of the studies are not done with Solidworks (I know that maybe it is not the best software available for this purpose) but I have to use it and I have to figure out how to do it as soon as possible. But going back to the question, since the muscle is non-linear. anisotropic, almost incompressible and viscoelastic; I have come to the idea that the best way to simulate it is using a non-linear study and an hyperelastic material with a Mooney-Rivlin model for the muscle. The problem is that I am not really sure about that, and in case that I am right, I am quite lost about the parameters I need to use for defining it. So I hope you can give me advice about if it is correct and if it is, about the parameters that I need to use.