Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

How to survive corporate politics 30

Status
Not open for further replies.

nickninevah

Marine/Ocean
May 8, 2014
I am a registered professional engineer with 5+ years experience. Recently took a new job, my first experience with a large corporation. I have always struggled with corporate politics, but this job is worse than any I've had before. I have four effective bosses. And the lead engineer on a project is someone with half the experience of me, no PE, and frequently makes decisions that I find very hard to respect.

Basically, my question is: how do you stand it? I know more than most of my coworkers, but I get no respect because I'm a new employee (4 months now). I feel like half my coworkers are more concerned with political maneuvering for more power in the company. I am a perfectionist. I can't stand people who are my superior, but who I view to be less competent than me. All I want to do is perform good engineering and ensure safety of life. And I feel like that conflicts with the corporate culture, which really wants me to be an obedient little robot and obey people that I have no respect for.

Here is an example. I sat in a very stressful meeting the other day. The client was very mad because we disagreed with the analysis of another engineering firm. This problem has gone on for weeks and could create major project delays. I feel confident that I could sit down with the other subcontractor and calmly solve the problem in a day. Instead, we sit in these meetings with lots of people arguing around a table. The client is yelling, asking for a solution. I know I can give them one. And I know that my company will not allow it. Because there are at least two people above me who want to be in control. It just killed me to know I could help our client and my company will not allow me to.