Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

How to sustain an Innovative Mind-Set? 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

junfanbl

Marine/Ocean
Jun 10, 2015
US
Hey Everyone, I am not an engineer. I don't have an engineering degree, but I did study Computer Science. However I do work with a long side engineers as kind of an assistant. I prepare summary reports for ship ballasting based on current design data. One specific reason I was hired was to write scripts for a number of applications to expedite processes. I have been employed for almost 2 years now, and in those 2 years I have been able to turn myself into an asset because I have been innovative. I developed some tools to make my departments workflow more efficient and accurate. I have always tried to approach things with a keen mind to improve and change things if necessary.

However after being here for almost 2 years I find myself out of ideas, like I am not quite as innovative as I use to be. I am having a lot of trouble developing and brainstorming ideas in the recent months. I guess my question is; how do you sustain an innovative mind-set? In your experience, as your career progresses do you find it harder and harder to develop and change as time goes on? It seems like when I was a new hire I found it super easy to develop ideas into something very useful, but not so much anymore. I'm not sure if this is because there isn't anything left to improve (I doubt it), or because I am becoming complacent with the way we do things.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I find that when I stop feeling innovating, it's because I've found the absolute best way to do something, it's perfect, and can no longer possibly be improved.