Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Hydraulic and hydrologic spread sheets

Status
Not open for further replies.

dlnva350

Civil/Environmental
Jan 29, 2008
US
I've recently started a new job as a civil engineer at a DOD agency. I've been working as a civil engineer since 2005 and while I've performed many calculations by hand, as with most of you, I used software applications to crunch numbers at my last job. Specifically, I used stormcad for HGL comps, HydroCAD for storm routing, and flowmaster (or culvert master) for various other calculations. The agency I now work for provides us with 2010 civil 3d so we're not completely lost, but there is no software for hydraulic calculations or storm routing. And there is little chance that we're going to get it soon (even if I bought something with my own money, which I wouldn't, I can't install it).

So here's the question: do any of you have any H&H spreadsheets that you could share with me? I understand the danger that can come with spreadsheets of this nature. I will need to understand how the sheet is doing its job. And yes, I have created spreadsheets in the past and may end up doing just that to meet my needs. But I thought I would ask anyway.
Thank you all,
Dean

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Dean - FHWA has hydraulics software for free ie. HY-8 culvert hydraulics and you can download TR55/20 also. As to spreadsheets, in my opinion the best thing to do is code it yourself. There is a forum on this website that will help with visual basic code ( This way you know what you coded. I was able to code HEC22 in about a week, off and on.

If I remember correctly civil3d incorporates hydraflow programs into their code. you may have everything you need in that software package.

gbam,