Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Hydrocad and infiltration

Status
Not open for further replies.

luklyz

Civil/Environmental
Jan 10, 2015
US
hi
This is great forum. I'm new to Hydrocad and i have a issue with a infiltration. I have a parcel 3.108 ac. in central Wisconsin. Wisconsin code stands that for high imperviousness sufficient runoff volume of the post- development infiltration volume shall be at least 60% of the pre-development infiltrations volume based on 1 and 2 year 24h peak runoff. My problem is for 1 and 2 year event my runoff is 0 i`m not discharging water from the site. i`m not sure how i can find out how much rain is infiltrate at 2 year storm. Any suggestion how to solve this. Thank you all

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

So you have a zero discharge from the site in the post development condition? Is this correct? Is this because of the Tc? Are you storing this volume somewhere? You just need to explain this better, if you have a 0 discharge from the site, there is nothing to infiltrate. Are you sure you have your inflow nodes setup correctly?

If your runoff node itself shows zero runoff, before it makes it to the stormwater management facility, you did something wrong in your model.

Most obvious error I can think of is you entered acres where the program expected square feet.

Hydrology, Drainage Analysis, Flood Studies, and Complex Stormwater Litigation for Atlanta and the South East -

hi
Sorry for confusion. I have 0 cfs in pre development and i need to infiltrate 60% of pre in post conditions.

So your local regs state that you need to infiltrate 60% of the pre-development runoff volume, in the post development condition? What storm are we talking about here?