Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Hydroelectric Microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

JJS1999

Student
Feb 11, 2023
ZA
Hi, I'm a computer engineering student in South Africa and started my final year now. Obviously this means I have my final year project. I'm still playing around with some ideas and one of them was a hydroelectric powered microcontroller. Essentially South Africa suffers from what we call Loadshedding, where pretty much every day our power is turned off for 2 hours ON A GOOD DAY. Sometimes it can get as bad as 10 hours in a day where we're without power.

So for that purpose I was looking at renewable energy. Solar power is pretty pricey still over here and unless you're device is outside you can forget about wind power. So I thought, what about water? If you can power a motor that generates electricity with running water through tubes, that in turn powers another motor that can ensure the constant flow of water, wouldn't that ensure you're device can run for at least 4 hours (which is the longest single period of Loadshedding we currently can get)?

Thing is, whenever I google most hydroelectric generators are huge, so now I'm wondering would a small scale one actually work to power a microcontroller which can be used to do other things (what that other thing is I'm still thinking of). But this is basically where I'm starting, but I'd like to hear from other engineering students if I'm going towards a dead end or if the idea has some merit.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you