Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

I am a young engineer who lacks confidence, professionalism and maturity. Looking for advice! 14

Status
Not open for further replies.

NewEngineer652

Mechanical
Feb 15, 2015
US
Hello Everyone,

I graduated from college about 8 months ago and working as a mechanical engineer now in California. I have read many posts on this group and they have helped me a lot. There are certain specific problems I have at work and I want to improve myself and learn more to be better. A lot of people have told me that I will become good with time and I need experience in order to achieve what I expect from myself. I believe hard work and determination can reduce that time and I can learn quicker and faster by focusing on what I want, instead of waiting for time. This is the motivation behind this post. Can you please tell me how I should handle the following problems at work.

(1). I lack confidence because the people I work with have more than 25 years of experience. They can sense, analyse and solve a problem in no time. I am afraid I will make mistake infront of them.

(2). In the meetings, I am very quite. I am not sure what to talk about sometimes. Our vendors visit us at our facility to talk about the parts they machine for us. In other words, I can go to meetings and just sit without effecting anything.

(3) Replying to emails is a part of my job. I was not born, raised in United States and moved here about 8 years ago. I want to make sure my emails are correct, professional and logical.

(4) My boss doesn't trust my calculations and suggestions. He checks my drawings with extra attention and assumes I am wrong every time.

I hope I hear from you all. My goal is to improve and be a very good Engineer.

Thanks