Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

I need a sealant that will cure underwater.

Status
Not open for further replies.

GK

Aerospace
Jul 8, 2000
US
I am a consultant and I am providing engineering / material science services for my client who is in need of sealing a water leak in a forestry piping system.  The system pumps clean and filtered water from a lake.  In an unpressurized section of PVC pipe (outside / exterior location), a leak has developed.  I can either remove the pipe sections, break apart the concrete footings and supports, then re-install a new section of pipe and valves - VERY EXPENSIVE !!! Or, I can inject a sealant into the pipe from an opening above, which would (hopefully) seal the water leak for good.  <br><br>I am looking for a sealant (or adhesive) which I can inject down into the pipe section (about 6 inches down) which would cure underwater to positively seal the low pressure water leak.  The water temp. in the summer is around 70 deg. F.  The water temp. in the winter is above 40 deg. F.  I'm trying to figure out the best method of injecting this sealant.  My first impulse is to pour the sealant into a metal cylinder (like a grease gun), then inject the sealant (using an air compressor) to force the sealant to it's desired location.      <br><br>QUESTION:  WHAT TYPE OF SEALANT CAN I USE ???  WHAT TYPES OF SEALANTS WOULD CURE UNDERWATER ?  WHERE WOULD I PURCHASE THIS SEALANT ?  DO YOU KNOW OF ANY COMPANIES THAT CAN HELP ME OUT ? <br><br>Thank you<br>George Kremer - Jet Edge Consultants

Replies continue below

Recommended for you